The unique talents of Monty Python Legend Terry Gilliam and inspirational fashion designer Alexander McQueen have been recognised with a coveted awards at tonight’s Arena O2 X Awards.   The Arena O2 X Awards, held this year at Benares, are now in their third year and are a celebration of genuine and exceptional talent across a wide variety of creative disciplines. Their purpose is to identify a select group of men who are changing the way men live their lives today, through their enthusiasm, innovation, drive and vision.   The prestigious Awards ceremony sees Alexander McQueen pick up the sought after Arena O2 X Award for Fashion whilst Terry Gilliam is awarded the Arena O2 Inspiration Award.   The Mighty Boosh are winners of the Arena O2 X Award for TV Comedy accepted by Noel Fielding, whilst Steve Pemberton and Jeremy Dyson take away an Arena O2 X Award for The League of Gentleman’s contribution to film, theatre and comedy.  Kevin Carrigan (Calvin Klein designer) is also awarded an Arena O2 X Award for Fashion alongside Alexander McQueen.   Birmingham’s Veejay Lingiah, owner of Art Lounge, a ‘try before you buy’ art gallery is named the ‘O2 Entrepreneur Of The Year’ at the Awards, having been selected as the overall national winner from a shortlist of six finalists, from across the UK.   William Drew, Arena’s Editor said:   “The Arena O2 X Awards continue  to identify and celebrate men in Britain who have shown creative brilliance in their chosen fields.  All too often in the current climate of easy fame, real and lasting talent goes relatively unrecognised and we are delighted to applaud our winners.   “They are an eclectic bunch and I believe they all show a level of passion, determination and drive which is very inspirational to all men across Britain”           Other winners of a 2006 Arena O2 X Award include:  

  • Richard Hawley for Music (Solo Artist)
  • Hot Chip for Music (Group)
  • Simon Ings (author of The Weight of Numbers) for Literature
  • Jason Atherton from Maze for Food
  • Ryan Gander for Art
  • Michael C Place of Build Consultancy for Design 
  • Sam Jacob, Sean Griffiths and Charles Holland for Architecture

  The distinguished Arena O2 X Awards feature appearances by all the winners as well as Rachel Stevens, Will Young, Emma Griffiths, Dave Berry and Heidi Range, Sandi Thom, Mylo, Keeley Hazell and Buella.

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on: 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries