O2 will recognise the cream of regional journalism in this year’s O2 North West Media Awards.

The regional awards have expanded to celebrate the success of the awards event launched by O2 three years ago. Their aim is to support the most talented and creative journalists working in regional newspapers, television and radio as well as internet-based digital mediums.

O2 first created the Media Awards to champion the work of print and broadcast journalists working in Cheshire and Merseyside. Since then the O2 awards have expanded across Greater Manchester, Lancashire and into Yorkshire and the Humber.

The North West awards now give journalists working across Cumbria the opportunity to compete against their peers

The regional contest will also see the introduction of three new award categories including O2’s Think Big Award which looks to celebrate the achievements of young people involved in community communication projects.

The awards also acknowledge the growth of social media, and journalists can now enter their blogs and twitter feeds in the Digital Journalist of the Year category.

Individual and team awards ranging from Reporter of the Year to Photographer of the Year will also feature. Separate categories have been introduced for weekly and daily newspapers although finalists in both these sections will also compete for the overall O2 Newspaper of the Year.

O2 employs around 3,000 people at its award-winning Customer Service Centres in Cheshire and Greater Manchester.

Glenn Manoff, Director of Communications and Reputation for O2, said the introduction of the North West regional awards was in response to requests from editors across different areas who wanted to pit their skills against colleagues from further afield.

‘The awards have been well received by the media industry since they were first introduced in 2008. To maintain their success it’s important they evolve and grow. The 2010 North West Awards promise to be an exciting contest with the best of the best competing for recognition.

‘This year we are also introducing new award categories both to reflect the way in which the media industry is developing and through our Special Achievement Award we’ll recognise the achievements of those special people in the industry who have dedicated their lives to regional journalism. We’re also excited to be introducing the Think Big media award to celebrate the achievements of young people who are using innovative methods to communicate with each other and their communities,’ he added.

A judging panel of media industry experts from the print, broadcast and digital sectors will select the finalists across 16 different media categories and the winners will be crowned at a glittering presentation evening in Liverpool later this year.

Deadline for entry nominations is September 22, 2010.

Journalists will be able to enter the following categories:

  • Digital Journalist of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Young Journalist of the Year (weekly newspapers)
  • Young Journalist of the Year (Daily newspapers and broadcast media)
  • TV Broadcast journalist of the Year
  • Radio Broadcaster of the Year
  • News Reporter of the Year
  • Business Journalist of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year
  • Editorial Team of the Year
  • Think Big media award
  • Special Achievement Award
  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year
  • O2 Newspaper of the Year

Entry forms are available by contacting Rossiter Media on 01925 576757 or by e-mail requests to O2mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk

For further information or clarification on the award entry process please contact:

Mark Rossiter or Sarah Roberts at Rossiter Media

01925 576757 or 07976292464


Ann McCracken at O2

07850 708009 or ann.mccracken@O2.com

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on:
press@virginmediao2.co.uk 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries