The search to find the cream of North West regional journalism is underway.

Entries for the O2 North West Media Awards opened this week with a new category to honour those who have made an Outstanding Contribution to their newspaper or broadcast station.

The regional awards attracted a record number of entries in 2010 and are expected to grow even further this year.

O2’s aim is to support the most talented and creative journalists working in regional newspapers, television and radio as well as internet-based digital mediums.

First created in 2008, the O2 Media Awards have expanded each year to recognise journalists working on weekly and daily newspapers, radio and television, internet publications and magazines.

Awards span individual and team categories and cover a range of specialisms. Up and coming talent is recognised in two young journalism categories while team work is celebrated in the regional Team of the Year award.

This year sees the introduction of an Outstanding Contribution award that looks to celebrate the efforts of one or more individuals who have made a lasting impression on their readers, viewers or their editorial colleagues.

O2 employs around 3,500 people at its award-winning Customer Service Centres in Preston Brook, Cheshire and Bury, Greater Manchester as well as its retail stores.

Glenn Manoff, Director of Communications, Reputation and Sustainability for O2, said last year’s awards had been a resounding success and was hoping the 2011 contest would be equally as popular.

‘The awards are growing in stature each year which demonstrates their popularity in the industry. We’ve also been delighted that several well-known celebrities and personalities have given their time to attend the award ceremonies. They, like us, want to celebrate the achievements of journalists who provide such a vital service in our communities.’

A judging panel of media industry experts from the print, broadcast and digital sectors will select the finalists across 15 different media categories and the winners will be crowned at a glittering presentation evening in the region later this year.

Deadline for entry nominations is September 14, 2011.

Journalists will be able to enter the following categories:

  • Digital Journalist of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Young Journalist of the Year (weekly newspapers)
  • Young Journalist of the Year (Daily newspapers and broadcast media)
  • TV Broadcast journalist of the Year
  • Radio Broadcaster of the Year
  • News Reporter of the Year
  • Business Journalist of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year
  • Editorial Team of the Year
  • Outstanding Contribution Award
  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year
  • O2 Newspaper of the Year

Entry forms are available by contacting Rossiter Media on 01925 576757 or by e-mail requests to

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on: 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries