The search to find the cream of media talent across Yorkshire and The Humber is underway. And this year the regional O2 Media Awards promise to be even bigger and better than ever.

Established in 2009, the awards contest has grown in size each year and now attracts hundreds of entries from journalists working in print, broadcasting and on digital news sites across the region.

The competition is free-to-enter and culminates in a glittering presentation evening attended by well-known personalities from the worlds of entertainment and sport.

Fourteen categories will recognise the most talented and creative people in the media industry working for newspapers, television and radio as well as internet-based digital mediums. There’s also a special achievement award to celebrate an outstanding journalist who has made a lasting contribution to the industry.

Judges are made up of experts from the media and include working journalists, editors and publishers.

Categories range from Reporter of the Year, Photographer of the Year and Editorial Team of the Year. Previous winners have been the Yorkshire Post, BBC Look North and The Press, York.

The Yorkshire and the Humber O2 Media Awards are part of a series of regional media contests across the North. O2 employs more than 2,400 people at the Arlington Business Centre in Leeds.

Glenn Manoff, Director of Communications, Reputation and Sustainability for O2, said he was looking forward to seeing this year’s entries.

‘The standard of regional journalism in Yorkshire and The Humber is unparalleled and we are always immensely impressed by the quality of the work we receive.

‘O2 plays a major role in keeping communities connected. That’s why we’re delighted to once again recognise the achievements and professionalism of those working in the media industry through the O2 Media Awards.’

Deadline for entry nominations is May 10, 2011. The winners will be crowned at a presentation evening in July.

Journalists will be able to enter the following categories:

  • Digital Journalist of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Young Journalist of the Year (weekly newspapers)
  • Young Journalist of the Year (Daily newspapers and broadcast media)
  • TV Broadcast journalist of the Year
  • Radio Broadcaster of the Year
  • News Reporter of the Year
  • Business Journalist of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year
  • Editorial Team of the Year
  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year
  • Special Achievement Award

Entry forms are available by contacting Rossiter Media on 01925 576757 or by e-mail request to

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on: 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries