O2 announces ‘exceptional’ media awards shortlist

Echo in pole as North West rivals line up for journalism ‘Oscars’



Regional rivalry resumes at this year’s O2 North West Media Awards. The Liverpool Echo has the lion’s share of the nominations but will face stiff competition from the Manchester Evening News, Bolton News, Lancashire Evening Post and Blackpool Gazette.


Echo journalists feature in five individual award categories covering News, Sport, Photography, Specialist Writing and Young Journalist of the Year as well as two team awards, including Daily Newspaper of the Year. Sister title The Liverpool Post has two individual nominations and is also shortlisted as Weekly Newspaper of the Year alongside the Cumberland News and Westmorland Gazette.


ITV Granada Reports’ journalists feature prominently with nominations for Rachel Townsend, Adam McClean, Dan Hewitt and Sarah Rogers. Dave Guest and Jayne McCubbin fly the flag for BBC North West Tonight.


In the battle of the airwaves, reporters from commercial radio stations have the stranglehold with nominations for Radio City and City Talk, Heart FM and The Bee.


Winners will be revealed at the awards presentation evening on November 6 at Liverpool’s Anglican Cathedral.


This year’s awards attracted more than 300 entries from journalists and production teams on regional newspapers, on-line publications, radio and television stations.


Judges were so impressed by the quality of some of the entries they insisted on introducing two new categories – specifically recognising journalists working on weekly newspapers and a special journalism award that will be revealed on the night.

Nicola Green, Head of Communications and Reputation at O2, said the number of entries this year had been amazing.


“The sheer volume of award entries meant that judging sessions took place over a number of days. The panels had the impossible task of selecting a handful of nominees from a huge range of portfolios. This year’s standard was exceptional both in quality and diversity. Every journalist who entered deserves huge credit for making the O2 awards so competitive. Those nominated this year really should feel truly proud of making such a phenomenal shortlist.”


Two of O2’s main Customer Service Centres are in Bury in Greater Manchester and Runcorn in Cheshire. The company launched the regional media awards in Cheshire six years ago. Since then the competition has grown and now covers Yorkshire and the whole of the North West.


Successful nominees should contact Rossiter Media on 01829 741371 or Liz@rossitermedia.co.uk / o2mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk for more details about the awards evening and to arrange for their tickets.







New Media Journalist of the Year

Andy Downton – Heart FM

Mark Thomas – The Post, Liverpool

John Scheerhout – Manchester Evening News


Young Journalist of the Year

Richard Wheatstone – Manchester Evening News

Adam McLean – ITV Granada

Joe Thomas – Liverpool Echo

Rachel Flint – Chester Chronicle

Daniel Hewitt – ITV Granada

Feature Writer of the Year

Vickie Scullard – Bolton News

Roger Lytollis – News & Star/ Cumberland News

Steve Canavan – The Gazette, Blackpool


News Reporter of the Year

Aasma Day – Lancashire Evening Post

Sarah Collins – 2BR/The Bee

Jennifer Williams – Manchester Evening News

John Siddle – Liverpool Echo


Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

Saddleworth Independent

Wirral Globe

Leigh Journal

Champion Newspapers

Weekly Journalist of the Year

Carmella De Lucia – Chester Chronicle

Ellis Butcher – Westmorland Gazette

Rachel Flint – Chester Chronicle

Ellie Cullen – Crewe Chronicle

Oliver Clay – Runcorn and Widnes Weekly News

Photographer of the Year

Robert Binder – Lancashire Telegraph

Darren Robinson – Oldham Evening Chronicle

Jason Roberts – Liverpool Echo & Post

Gareth Jones – Liverpool Echo & Post

Phil Rigby – CN Magazines


Emerging Talent Award

Anthony Sabanskis – University of Bolton

Ian O’Brien – Blackburn University College

Joshua Worrall – Cronton Sixth Form College

Emily Burgin – University of Salford


Radio Journalist of the Year

Mair Thomas – Heart North West

Mick Coyle – City Talk 105.9

Steve Becker – BBC Radio Lancashire


Scoop of the Year

Rachel Townsend – Granada Reports (George Osborne ‘Ticketgate’)

Radio City & City Talk – (Don’t Bet On It)

Jennifer Williams – Manchester Evening News (The Cavemen of 2013)


Specialist Publication of the Year

Lancashire Life

All Together Now

Business Insider

Warrington Guardian Weekend Magazine


Specialist Writer of the Year

Jayne McCubbin – BBC North West Tonight

Alistair Houghton – Liverpool Post & Echo

Ben Turner – Liverpool Echo


Sports Journalist of the Year

William Watt – The Gazette, Blackpool

Suzanne Geldard – Lancashire Telegraph

Greg O’Keeffe – Liverpool Echo

David Chisnall – ITV Granada

Editorial Team of the Year

Lancashire Evening Post (Preston Guild)

Liverpool Echo (Hillsborough)

The Farm (BBC Sport)


TV Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Sarah Rogers – ITV Granada

Dan Hewitt – ITV Granada

Dave Guest – BBC North West

Adam McLean – ITV Granada


Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid For)

The Post, Liverpool

Westmorland Gazette

Cumberland News


Daily Newspaper of the Year

Daily Post Wales

Bolton News

Liverpool Echo








For more information, contact


Ann McCrackenO2 Communications Manager, NorthAnn.mccracken@o2.com+44 (0)7850 708009 Mark RossiterRossiter Mediamark@rossitermedia.co.uk+44 (0)1829 741371


O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com


All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website: www.o2.co.uk/news

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on:
press@virginmediao2.co.uk 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries