Young talent recognised at O2 Media Awards

Hull retains daily crown but shock wins in other categories


The Hull Daily Mail defended its title as Yorkshire’s best daily newspaper at the O2 Media Awards last night.


The Mail was also voted O2 Team of the Year for its coverage of Hull’s City of Culture campaign while crime reporter Jenna Thompson was named Specialist Writer of the Year.


Britain’s best-known modern playwright Sir Alan Ayckbourn crowned the Scarborough News – his adopted home-town newspaper – as the region’s top paid-for weekly.


News Reporter of the Year was Rob Waugh of the Yorkshire Post with Don Mort of the Wakefield Express named as best weekly newspaper journalist.


BBC Look North was honoured with two awards. Presenters Harry Gration and Amy Garcia accepted the Community Journalism Award for the station’s fundraising Tandem Tour of Yorkshire campaign, while reporter Kate Bradbrook was named TV Broadcast Journalist of the Year, pipping newsroom colleague Danni Hewson and ITV’s Jon Hill.


ITV Calendar took the top sports award of the night with Chris Dawkes retaining the trophy he first won last year, but in the radio categories it was the BBC who triumphed over their commercial rivals. BBC reporters were nominated in five award categories with BBC Radio Leeds reporter Tracy Gee named Yorkshire’s best radio journalist.


This year’s awards were held at The Royal Armouries in Leeds and attracted an audience of 150 media professionals across print, digital and broadcast organisations. BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin hosted the event. Awards were presented by well known media representatives and members of the Yorkshire public who had featured in regional and national news stories through the year.


Young talent featured heavily in this year’s 20 award categories. Leeds Student Newspaper won best free weekly newspaper and broadcast student Andrew Seddon was awarded the O2 Emerging Talent Award. And in one of the biggest shocks of the night media student James Hanson, a presenter on Leeds University radio, beat some of the best-known names in the business to win Broadcast Presenter of the Year. Hanson, whose award was announced by ITN presenter Nina Hossain, was described as the best radio talent to come out of Leeds since Chris Moyles.


With almost 300 individual entries the O2 Awards are the biggest regional press awards in the country. Capita, a UK leader in business process management and outsourcing solutions, provided additional sponsorship. Judging was conducted over three separate days and the panels were made up of working editors and senior news executives from print, radio and television.


Paul James, acting Director of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said the judging panel were hugely impressed by the tremendous examples of community journalism across Yorkshire and the Humber.


“The O2 awards are a celebration of all that is good about regional media.”


Bob Buiaroski, Capita O2 Partnership Director, said the Awards were one of the most prestigious of their type in the UK.


“The fantastic work of regional journalists across Yorkshire needs to be showcased,” he added.


The O2 North West awards will be launched next week. This year the presentations will take place at the Imperial War Museum in Manchester in November.





O2 Media Awards Yorkshire and the Humber 2014 winners


News Reporter of the Year

Rob Waugh – Yorkshire Post


Runners Up

Kevin Shoesmith –  Hull Daily Mail

Kate Bradbrook – BBC Look North

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North


Specialist Publication of the Year

Yorkshire Living – Newsquest


Runners Up

One & Other – York

Tell the World – Hull Daily Mail

Yorkshire Post Magazine


Specialist Writer of the Year

Jenna Thompson – Hull Daily Mail


Runners Up

Katie Baldwin – Yorkshire Evening Post

Tony Earnshaw – Yorkshire Post


Community Journalism Award

BBC Look North – Tandem Tour De Yorkshire


Runners Up

BBC Radio Humberside – David Burns ‘The Rank House’

Bradford Telegraph & Argus – Save National Media Museum


New Media Award

Graham Walker – Sheffield Star


Runners Up

Bradford Telegraph & Argus

Worksop Guardian


Weekly News Reporter of the Year

Don Mort – Wakefield Express


Runners Up

Mike Cotton – Barnsley Chronicle

Lauren Ballinger – Spenborough Guardian

Darren Burke – Doncaster Free Press


Weekly Sports Reporter of the Year

Chris Sumpter – Scunthorpe Telegraph


Runners Up

Paul Goodwin – Doncaster Free Press

Hayley Paterson – Doncaster Free Press & Epworth Bells


Weekly Paid For Newspaper of the Year

Scarborough News


Runners Up

Worksop Guardian

Wakefield Express


Young Journalist of the Year

Laura Hill – Harrogate Advertiser


Runners Up

David Harrison – BBC Radio Humberside

Michael Muncaster – Batley News

Jonathan Brown – Yorkshire Evening Post


Feature Writer of the Year

Karl Hansell – Whitby Gazette


Runners Up

Sarah Freeman – Yorkshire Post

Angus Young – Hull Daily Mail



Photographer of the Year

Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press, York


Runners Up

Stephen Garnett – Craven Herald

Mike Simmonds  – Bradford Telegraph & Argus


Sports Journalist of the Year

Chris Dawkes – ITV Calendar


Runners Up

James Smailes – Hull Daily Mail

Daniel Gregory – Scarborough News


Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Tracy Gee, BBC Radio Leeds


Runners Up

Johnathan i’Anson, BBC Radio Leeds

Charlie Frost, Radio Aire


Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Kate Bradbrook – BBC Look North


Runners Up

Danni Hewson – BBC Look North

Jon Hill – ITV Calendar


Broadcast Presenter of the Year

James Hanson – Leeds Student Radio


Runners Up

Christine Talbot – ITV Calendar

Rony Robinson – BBC Radio Sheffield

Toby Foster – BBC Radio Sheffield


Scoop of the Year

Hull Daily Mail – ‘We will be called Hull Tigers’


Runners Up

Yorkshire Post – Police pay and perks investigation

Leeds Student Newspaper – ‘Violate a fresher’


Editorial Team of the Year

Hull Daily Mail – City of Culture


Runners Up

Leeds Student Newspaper

BBC Look North – Tandem Tour De Yorkshire


Daily Newspaper of the Year

Hull Daily Mail


Runners Up

Huddersfield Examiner

Yorkshire Post

Bradford Telegraph & Argus


Weekly Free Newspaper of the Year

Leeds Student Newspaper

Runner Up

Dearne Valley Weekender


Emerging Talent Award

Andrew Seddon – University of Leeds


Runners Up

Salma Haidrani – University of Sheffield

James Weston – Wyke Sixth Form College


For photo’s of the night check this link




For more information, contact


Mark RossiterRossiter (0)1829 741371


O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656



All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website:

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on: 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries