After five years out of the music scene, 27 year old Scottish singer-songwriter Paolo Nutini is back with the release of his third studio album, Caustic Love, available on O2 Tracks Centre Stage all week.

This time he’s ditched the sunshine ditties for a slice of seventies soul and funk, channelling the likes of Al Green, Sam Cooke and Marvin Gaye. We had a listen and picked out our highlights.

Paolo blasts into the opening of his album with his smash hit lead single Scream (Funk My Life Up). Nutini dazzles with his raspy-smooth vintage sound, backed up with a low down dirty funk inspired beat. Turn it up loud.

Slow jam One Day shows a darker, more melancholy side to Paolo’s sound, but it’s just as enjoyable. The track’s haunting beat works wonders in showcasing his soul-soaked vocal abilities, sounding like a tribute to the late great Amy Winehouse.  

Iron Sky blows you into the stratosphere with Nutini’s raw emotional intensity. Backed by strings, bass and a tremolo guitar, this broody ballad also includes a sample of a classic Charlie Chaplin line from The Great Dictator, prompting suggestions that Paolo’s getting political. Check out a live performance here. Adele tweeted it was one of the best things she’s ever seen. Who are we to argue? Our pick of the album.

Let us know what you think of Caustic Love by leaving a comment below.

Not got O2 Tracks yet? Text TRACKS to 61202 to get started.

Full Tracklist:

1.Scream (Funk My Life Up)
2. Let Me Down Easy
3. Bus Talk (interlude)
4. One Day
5. Numpty
6. Superfly
7. Better Man
8. Iron Sky
9. Diana
10. Fashion
11. Looking For Something
12. Cherry Blossom
13. Someone Like You

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on: 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries