Clap along if you know what happiness is to you. For us, it’s having Grammy Award winner Pharrell’s new album G I R L in the O2 Tracks Centre Stage Playlist this week.

It’s the 40 year old wonder producer’s first album since 2006, and at ten tracks (and hidden interlude Freq), he’s made sure every single packs a punch. Here are a few of our highlights.

Opener Marilyn Monroe ropes in famed composer/producer Hans Zimmer to take care of the strings, setting the tone for the rest of the record with a 30-piece orchestra. Epic.

Brand New features Pharrell’s pal JT in a fight over who’s got the best falsetto. It’s a battle where everyone wins. The combination of their voices is pure magic, backed by beat-boxing and funk guitar.

Originally released on the Despicable Me 2 soundtrack, award-winning smash hit single, Happy, makes its appearance.

Try staying angry after listening to this track, we dare you. It’s brilliantly simple and difficult not to love.

Pharrell teams up with tweeny twerker Miley Cyrus on Come Get it Bae. Bae stands for ‘before anyone else’, not to be confused with a reference to the British multinational defence, security and aerospace company. Although it would probably still sound incredible.

Album highlight Gust of Wind features French funk duo Daft Punk, repaying the favour following their no.1 hit ‘Get Lucky’. The robots (as Pharrell calls them) work brilliantly with his infectious vocals on this disco jam. Easily an early contender for song of the summer.

Not got O2 Tracks yet?  Text TRACKS to 61202 to get started.

Full tracklist

1. Marilyn Monroe
2. Brand New ft. Justin Timberlake
3. Hunter
4. Gush
5. Happy
6. Come Get it Bae ft. Miley Cyrus
7. Gust of Wind ft. Daft Punk
8. Lost Queen
9. I Know Who You Are ft. Alicia Keys
10. It Girl

Journalists can contact the Virgin Media O2 press office on: 01753 565656
Virgin Media
press enquiries
press enquiries